Bridgwater Heritage Group

Lost Bridgwater
Bridgwater Archives Bridgwater Scientists Bridgwater Heritage Friarn Research


Welcome
Introduction
The following series of articles seek to explore the history of Bridgwater through its lost architectural heritage. These stories will be fascinating in their own right, an insight into the changing needs and demands of the towns folk over time, in the creation, changing uses and destruction of their standing structures. The project is also conducted in mind of the cliche: 'to appreciate what you have, you have to understand what's been lost.' It is hoped that it will create a greater awareness of the need to appreciate our civic environment and avoid some of the careless and mindless destruction and neglect that is ever present through these accounts.

Contributions are always welcome, be they modern or medieval, grand or humble, domestic or industrial, or even just additions and memories for existing articles.
Research Pages (Work in Progress)

Bridgwater CastleWest Quay to York Buildings, 1200-1820
The West Street Area including Albert Street, 1200-1966
Binford Place near Fore Street, 1200-1966
Blake Gardens and Binford Place, 1200-now

Articles

The Stone Bridge Town Centre, Saxon-1795
The Medieval Hospital Eastover, 1200-1536
The Lytil Mill Blake Street, 1200-1995
The Medieval Friary Friarn Street, 1246-1536
Possible Plague Pit? Mansion House Lane ?1349?
Buildings on the Bridge Salmon Parade, c.1392-c.1830
The High Cross Cornhill, 1567- c.1800
Kidsbury and the Jews' Churchyard, medieval
The Shambles High Street, medieval-c.1800
The Assize Halls High Street, medieval onwards
St. Mary Street by the Cornhill, medieval-1932
The Lamb Inn High Street, medieval-1888
The White Horse Inn Penel Orlieu, medieval-?1900?

The Castle Inn Fore Street, late medieval-1902
The Malt Shovel North Street, late medieval-1903
The Bull and Butcher High Street, late medieval-1907
An Elizabethan Grand House Blake Street, late 16th c.
Henry Harvey's Castle House King Square, 1630-1813
Henry Harvey's House East Quay, 1638-1800
A Possible Plague Pit? High Street, 1665
The Queen's Head Inn St John Street, c.1700-1908
The Society of Friends' (Quaker) Burial Ground Albert Street, 1721-1935

Sion Chapel Friarn Street, 1822-1970s(?)
The Wesleyan Burial Ground Albert Street, 1830-1941
Thompson's Ironmongers no.4 Cornhill, c.1832-1962
Holy Trinity Church Taunton Road, 1839-1961
The Gaol Fore Street, 1832-1876
St John's Vicarage Monmouth Street, 1845-1988
St. Joseph's Roman Catholic Chapel, Gordon Terrace, 1846-1997
Gough and Nation Ship Building Yard Crowpill, c.1850s-1880
Barham's Cement Works East Quay, 19th c.-1967
The Congregational Chapel Fore Street, 1864-1966
The Cattle Market Penel Orlieu, 1875-1935
Lipton's Fore Street, 1876-1966
The George Williams Memorial Hall Eastover, 1887-1968
Bridgwater North Station the Clink, 1890-1952
Bourchier Bros Eastover, 1891-1963
Fox Fowler and Co. Cornhill, 1894-1960s
The Post Office on the Cornhill, 1897-1964

Nelson's Butchers Fore Street, 1902-1967
Somerset Bridge School Riverside, 1903-2019
The Queen's Head Hotel St John Street, 1908-1958
The Bandstand Victoria Park, 1936-1946
Westover School Wembdon Road, 1937-c.2000

Lost Things

Lost Festivals


Links to other sites
St.Joseph's Roman Catholic congregation had a very informative website which includes pages on The Gordon Terrace Catholic Chapel and the demolition of the Chapel Street Co-op Building

St.Joseph's Roman Catholic Church


Workhouse.org.uk research on the Bridgwater Northgate Workhouse
Bridgwater Workhouse

All Content © Bridgwater Heritage Group, unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved, do not reproduce material without permission.

Comments on the site? Queries on Bridgwater history or heritage? Contributions to the site?
Contact us here.